Domestic violence on the rise this holiday season

Alabama's Source for Local Coverage You Can Count On

[anvplayer video=”388022″ /]

JEFFERSON COUNTY, Ala (WIAT) — Nearly 5300. That’s how many people in Jefferson County were assaulted, raped or killed by someone who claimed to love them in 2013. When it comes to domestic violence, Alabama is ranked in the top five states for women killed by male partners. Investigators say it only gets worse during the holidays.

“It was always my fault. I made him do these things,” claims one domestic violence survivor when talking about her thoughts during the abuse. “If I would have just done this differently or that differently. He wouldn’t have done that to me.”

That survivor agreed to speak with WIAT 42 News on the condition on anonymity. But tells us she lived with her abuser for 25 years.

“My child blamed me and said why didn’t you leave sooner,” she says. “I felt horrible because here I thought I was doing…

View original post 381 more words

Leave a Reply

