Teens and Domestic Violence #31dbc

About one in five female teens report physical dating violence by a dating partner.
Some domestic violence statistics studies have found that 40 percent of teens from 14 to 17 have reported knowing someone their age who had been hit, beaten or abused by a boyfriend.
Nearly 14 percent of teens, both male and female, have reported that their boyfriend or girlfriend threatened to harm them or themselves to avoid a breakup.
Many of these domestic violence statistics also indicate that as a dating relationship becomes more serious, the potential for a dangerous setting with violence also increases.

Is that alarming to you??! I hope so I was one of those teens. My first abusive relationship started when I was a teenager. I was young and thought he must really love me, he didn’t want anyone one else to have me.

Teen and ladies the first time you hear him say, “if I can’t have you, no one will have you.” Start thinking of a plan to escape that’s not love. A real man understands this MIGHT not work out. And if it doesn’t that’s fine. A controlling man as yet to understand IF this fails that’s fine as well.

The first threat on my life came after a young man called my mothers house for me. The guy I was dating at the time answered the phone. For years he said it was an accident, he even answered the phone.

Angry he speeds off in his car to his mothers house to get his shot gun. She could tell something was wrong. She tried to calm him down to find out what’s going on. He tells his mother I was cheating on him an he was coming to kill me.

She calls for help police come, they take him to he 4th floor of a local hospital. Where he spent several days. I waited for him to get out. Hoping things would get better.

Not the case he had it in his mind I was cheating. Not really sure when I had the time or energy. Unsure of who to contact or what to so I stayed.

I knew how to keep it to myself and NOT act out when I knew things would be bad when we got home.

Our relationship took a ugly turn May 15, 2000, after one of our arguments lead to the shooing of a City of Dayton Police Officer. That day changed my life forever.

I shared his little piece of my life to say, “our teens need us.” They need guidance on how to leave these relationships. They need a safe haven, truth is NOT all of them will leave BUT let’s help those who will.

They triumphed over him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death. (Revelation 12:11 NIV)

If you were a victim of teen DV please share your story with us at nomoreblows@yahoo.com. We would love to share your story of victory and overcoming.

Please like our Facebook page just type No More Blows in your search engine!!!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday! Make sure you to keep those still I the battle in your prayers.

Love, peace and hugs,

Lady K-:)

20131006-062336.jpg

Leave a Reply

