Rachel This is For You!! 💜💜💛💙 #31dbc

Dazed. Confused. At a loss for words as the verdict came down in the State of Florida vs. George Zimmerman. My heart dropped as the Judge said, “Not Guilty.” I thought a guilty verdict was coming on a lesser charge, but it was not the case as I heard, “You’re free to go.” My heart hurt for Travon’s family. Then my heart felt for Rachel.

As some of you might remember she is the friend of Trayvon Martin known as witness #8 for a long time. I remember social media making comments about her testimony. I also remember people making comments about the fact she lied about her age because she didn’t want to get involved in the beginning.

Let me make a few things clear: until you’ve walked her shoes you would have NO idea what she was feeling or thinking. The fact she didn’t attend the funeral has NOTHING to do with her being a credible witness.

I remember being her age and having to testify in a high profile case for my area. I was in the middle if a domestic dispute that ended with a City of Dayton Police officer being shot and paralyzed.

I know what it is like to be in the interrogation room with detectives in your face yelling, with foam around their mouth. Rachel, I feel the pain of trying to remember all you said under the pressure of people who have two different points to prove. Like Rachel, I know what it is like to be honest about conversations you had and to feel like it backfired on you. Rachel there is NOTHING you could have said or done to make the Jurors feel any other way.

My most horrible memory from being integrated was The County Prosecutor standing over me yelling, “I don’t give a damn about you, or that fool. All I care about is the police officer.” When I tell you I feel you, it is not because I want to, it’s because I really do.

I don’t care what you read, you did not fail as a witness. Walking in your shoes 13 years ago I think you did a stand up job. It was your job to be honest about everything and you did just that. You took an oath to tell the whole truth and nothing but the truth. It was your responsibility to tell what you knew.

It was NOT your job to prove the case. That was the prosecution’s duty. I’m sure reading the comments people made about you was hard. People will talk NO matter what. You don’t need to defend what you said or how you said it.

I’m not sure if you will ever this post. If you do it’s my prayer you don’t feel any guilt or shame. You made the choice to stay out of the spotlight and I respect you for that. People who are speaking of what they might have done HAVE NO clue what they would have done.

I’m sure Trayvon is happy you spoke up for him. I will continue to keep you in my prayers as I feel you pain.

From one witness to another keep your head up!!

One thought on “Rachel This is For You!! 💜💜💛💙 #31dbc

  1. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am
    impressed! Extremely helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was seeking this certain information for a very long time.

    Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

