Teens and Domestic Violence #31dbc

Good day, this morning my sleep was disturbed thinking about the teens who suffer in silence. Those who have NO SAFE HAVEN from the person who beats and sexually abuse them.

I remember as a teenager this relationship thing had to get better. I dated a guy who wanted me and a few other women. He was a charmer, the ladies man and nice looking I might add. When I was younger that mattered to me.

That’s when I found out abusers have NO certain look, social class or age classification. It wasn’t until a few years ago I realized I wasn’t alone as a teen victim of domestic violence. Take a look at these statistics on teen violence:

Teen Dating Violence Statistics

Girls and women between the ages of 16 and 24 experience the highest rates of intimate partner violence.
1 in 5 high school girls is physically or sexually hurt by a dating partner.
1 in 3 teens experience some kind of abuse in their romantic relationships.
Only 33 % of teens who have been in or known about an abusive dating relationship report having told anyone about it.
Teen girls face relationship violence 3 times more than adult women.
25% of victims say they have been isolated from family and friends.
More than half of victims say they have compromised their own beliefs to please a partner.
Many teens think this is normal.
Teens report dating abuse via cell phones is a serious problem.
Cell phone calls and texting mean constant control: 1 in 3 teens say they are text messaged 10, 20, 30 times an hour by a partner keeping tabs on them
82% of parents whose teens were emailed or text messaged 30 times an hour were not aware of this
The majority of parents of teen victims are unaware of the abuse
Statistics from the US Dept. of Justice, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and Liz Claiborne Inc. teen dating violence survey

This was alarming to me NOT shocking because I was one of them. I knew what it was like to put on the mask of, “all is well.” Started doing so at an early age being molested at the age of 10. A mask I wore for years. Until God allowed me to get vulnerable before Him. No shame there.

Today I want to ask for your help. As we think about the teens who suffer. If you or someone you know has been abused PLEASE share your story. Please send it to nomoreblows@yahoo.com. The movement is about raising awareness on this war we as women fight. This battle we don’t sign a contract for.

Also I want you to think about a few teens who have died at the hands of another teenager. Below I have a list of why No More Blows is important to me;

NoMoreBlows is important to me so young ladies will NO longer be victims.
Crijannia Bell
Shynerra Grant
Lauren Astley
Teens killed by boyfriends. Please read their stories. Google is where I found them.

These young ladies matter to me on two different occasions I could have easily been any one of them BUT God stepped in. He changed the plans nothing else.

Today as you think about how many teens girls you know allow this post to stay on your mind. Since most of them never report it WE MUST be the voice for them.

We have a responsibility to future generations to come. I’m not sure about you, but I often wished someone would have told me my life was headed into a dead end. Delivery is key when doing this. Never become too delivered you cast shame on what they are going through.

Let me leave a little verse with you;

To him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy— to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen. (Jude 1:24, 25 NIV)

God is able to keep those willing to be kept! Stay in the arms of a man who loves you unconditionally!!! That’s the safest place to be!

Thanks for you support, love and prayers. Please subscribe to the blogs, also follow the movement on Facebook like No More Blows!!

Peace, Love and Hugs,

Lady K -:)

Leave a Reply

