A Living Sacrifice #31dbc

As a former victim of Domestic Violence I find myself doing a lot of research on the topic. The other day while doing so, I was shocked at how unhealthy we really are as victims and survivors. It broke my heart to read how this breaks us down.

The study showed victims of Domestic Violence are 80% more likely to have a stroke, 70% more likely to drink, 70% more likely to have a heart attack and 60% more likely to have asthma. Looking at Domestic Violence victims have the potential to be some of the sickest people in the world. It also stated victims are more likely to catch an STD.

All of this made me think what can we as victims/survivors to do turn these numbers around? We gotta move and shake our way to better health. We have to take better care of ourselves.

This means exercising and watching what we eat. I don’t mean as you place it on he fork. We have to watch what we eat before we put it on our plates! God has kept us allowing us NOT to die in the middle of our mess.

Now that we are still here what are we good to do with this body?? Today I have a challenge for you. Lets start a 31 day move and shake! Find you a few girlfriends. Encourage them to move and shake with you, tell them you’re moving for life! We can’t keep allowing doctors to put on medicine for things we can help.

Also if you’re dealing with post depression exercise can help with that as well. As you work out your body releases endorphins to assist with this process. That’s what gives you the “Happy Feeling” after a good workout.

Today I’m going to start walking and increase my exercise as we go. My goal is to be able to run a mile at the same pace I did in High School.

I can do anything I put my mind to. I’m also doing this for my kids! I have two daughters who need a mother! Once you find your purpose for living you will find the strength to join the challenge.

It’s is my prayer you will realize your body is damaged by the blows and God wants better for you! Once you know better you do better.

If you’re up for the challenge let me know by commenting on this post. We will encourage each other one day at a time.

As always let me leave this verse with you:

Romans
A Living Sacrifice

12 Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.

I don’t think that to much for God to ask for! Day 1 of Moving and Shaking!!

Love, peace and Hugs

Lady K-;)

20130701-151950.jpg

9 thoughts on “A Living Sacrifice #31dbc

  1. Great blog! My sister is an domestic abuse survivor, so I am more passionate about this subject as it touched home. Thank you for sharing such an eye opening blog and being so brave to share your testimony!

    Like

    • @Angel it’s a passion of mine as well. I feel like I’m My Sisters Keeper! We all need each other. God has kept me for this season. I’m walking into it with his hand on me. The desire is for more survivors coming together in unity! Thanks again for your kind words!!!

      Lady K!!! -:)

      Like

  2. As with any form of stress or psychological trauma, it totally has an effect on our bodies and health! A friend of mine suffers from PTSD and has had numerous heart attacks as a result. Heal the mind and the body will follow!

    Like

  3. This is a great post and I’ll be happy to join the movement! We need to get up and get going. There’s no reason for excuses.. The Lord saw fit to keep us so let’s get these temples in order!!! So excited to begin this journey!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

