Honor Thy Father

As I sit thinking Fathers Day is this weekend. This being the first year in my 32 years I’ll ever send my Father a gift. As I search for cards I can’t find one to express where we’ve grown to.

I didn’t grow up a “Daddy’s Girl.” I was a “Momma’s Girl” rotten to the core. My Father served in the US Military and had other children even married several times. I only know these things because he’s shared them with me.

It wasn’t until 2007 I was lead to my father via an older sibling. Only to find out I was the second oldest of 5! I was my mothers oldest child and his second oldest. Kind of cool to find out about these other siblings. The great part about DNA is we all have features of each other! No DNA test needed, “You are the father!”

It’s my hope his post will allow Father child relationships to be restored and repaired. Prayer is the key and allowing God to mend your broken heart.

As an adult I was over the fact my Father wasn’t there ANY of my childhood. He left my Mother to raise two children alone. She had hard times BUT she never allowed us to know it. As most parents don’t share the struggle with the children.

Lets move to the adult years of my life and relationship with my Father. I’ll never forget when my son passed. I just knew he would be here. He told me he purchased a plane ticket and would be coming in from Colorado. I thought it pretty sad this is the way you have to meet your grandson. As the day approached he never arrived. He had some story about his absence as always.

I was hurt about to bury my only son the day before my birthday and he pulls a stunt like this. My mother was here so I was ok, my sister who I grew up with was here and that’s all that mattered to me. In my heart that little girl wanted her Daddy. This man she fell in love with over the phone. Yet he was a NO SHOW.

As time went on we talked about how his NO SHOW made my feel. And as God forgives me I had to forgive him again for his lack of love and support.

As the time goes we continue this telephone love affair. It was something about hearing the voice of a man I’ve never met BUT felt much connection with. I would call more than he would call me.

Here we go 2 1/2 years later another tragedy strikes my mother is diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer. He called daily to check on her. He would also check to see how we were doing. After all she is the mother of two of his children.

One week before his 60th Birthday my mother passed away. I wasn’t expecting him to come for the funeral. His wife already had a big bash planned to celebrate him turning 60. I wasn’t mad and understood completely.

What I didn’t understand is how he couldn’t pick up the phone to check on us. In my book it’s not that much partying in the world. I called to give him a piece of my mind. I was nice and respectful. I didn’t say one cuss word and got my point across.

The next time we talked I asked him to get a check up to make sure all was well with his health. His check up discovered he had stage one prostate cancer. I wasn’t to worried he was concerned and overwhelmed.

Now it’s time to kick in all I had ever learned in church about forgiveness and praying for those who have hurt you. My father would call EVERY night so we could pray.

That was an honor to me. It showed that he saw enough of Jesus in me to pray and keep him covered. He knew I had enough faith by our phone conversations and my willingness to forgive him over and over again. God had given my strength to endure this race.

I had mixed emotions. Wondering why God didn’t save my mother BUT saved my father. My father had some growing to do and some healing. He had to make a few things right here in earth.

As Fathers Day comes maybe things are NOT the best between you and your dad for whatever reason. Tonight let me give you one reason to make it right. The Cross should be enough! We’re forgiven daily as often as we repent.

Maybe you feel like he’s older he should know better. Remember God has called is to be Salt & Light. If your Father needed prayer would you be the first or last person to call?

God tells us to honor our parents the scripture doesn’t say “perfect parents.” As well all make mistakes on the journey of parenthood! Life is a circle remember what goes around comes around!

This Fathers Day make a special point to Honor Thy Father! If forgiveness needs to take place forgive and learn to love.

As always I want to leave a verse with you;
CHILDREN, OBEY your parents in the Lord [as His representatives], for this is just and right. Honor (esteem and value as precious) your father and your mother–this is the first commandment with a promise– That all may be well with you and that you may live long on the earth. Fathers, do not irritate and provoke your children to anger [do not exasperate them to resentment], but rear them [tenderly] in the training and discipline and the counsel and admonition of the Lord. (Ephesians 6:1-4 AMP)

Love, peace and hugs

Lady K

2 thoughts on “Honor Thy Father

  1. First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear
    your mind prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my mind in
    getting my thoughts out. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes are usually wasted just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Appreciate it!

    Like

    1. Greetings, you have to make the environment you write in a nice one. I can’t write in chaos or a lot of loud noise. Also as your day goes by write about a few things you want to post about. The car ride home from work is where I do most of my thinking. You have to write with passion as well, what gets you going? What can you talk about for hours and hours? Those are the topics I find myself doing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

