Dear Florida Professor

Howdy!!! First let me start by thanking God I didn’t post this 6 hours ago. I was sitting in the doctors office, Fox News was on I heard one of the most ignorant things ever. A Professor from Florida accused the people of Newtown, CT of “staging the death of the victims of the school shooting.”

My jaws dropped in disbelief as I tried to listen to this ignorance being spread across the country. As if the families haven’t been through enough. I must say I was embarrassed and I don’t even know this man. All I know is my personal struggle with gossip and slander after the death of a child. Not just any death but a child murdered by an adult unable to control his feelings and emotions.

The rage boiled inside of me as I heard these allegations. I was about to go in on this man, who obviously didn’t care about who he hurt with his heartless comment. I’m learning more and more to be lead by the Holy Spirit. These are the verse that speak to this situation.

Shun youthful lusts and flee from them, and aim at and pursue righteousness (all that is virtuous and good, right living, conformity to the will of God in thought, word, and deed); [and aim at and pursue] faith, love, [and] peace (harmony and concord with others) in fellowship with all [Christians], who call upon the Lord out of a pure heart. But refuse (shut your mind against, have nothing to do with) trifling (ill-informed, unedifying, stupid) controversies over ignorant questionings, for you know that they foster strife and breed quarrels. And the servant of the Lord must not be quarrelsome (fighting and contending). Instead, he must be kindly to everyone and mild-tempered [preserving the bond of peace]; he must be a skilled and suitable teacher, patient and forbearing and willing to suffer wrong. (2 Timothy 2:22-24 AMP)

Am I saying I am ok with his comment? Not the case at all. My heart hurts for the families of the children and adults. I pray often for them. I ask God to comfort them and shower his healing power down on them. Not just the parents but the community as a whole.

Let me explain how I feel about mourning and grieving the loss of ANY family member. It should be a private matter. There is NO rule we have to grieve and mourn in public. Until you’ve experienced loss of this kind, you should always keep your opinion to yourself and off social networks. Let me ask you three questions:
1. Who said you have to do an interview after a tragic death?
2. Who said I have to act a fool because someone I love was taken tragically?
3. If you really cared should you be gossiping like this?

Let me be the first to tell you the interview is recorded and they will show and edit it to say what they want it to say. Acting a fool doesn’t mean I will miss the deceased any more or less. Last but not least its the insensitive comments like this that shut people out of the publics eye.

To the families of Newtown, you have people around the works praying for you. Don’t allow the ignorance of someone exercising his First Amendment Right to set you back. Please continue to walk in the healing God has set out for you. I want to leave this with you tonight. Tonight I want you to stand on these verses.

The face of the Lord is against those who do evil, to cut off the remembrance of them from the earth. When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears, and delivers them out of all their distress and troubles. The Lord is close to those who are of a broken heart and saves such as are crushed with sorrow for sin and are humbly and thoroughly penitent. (Psalm 34:16-18 AMP)

God is near allow Him to wrap you in his arms. I’m speaking from personal experience. Praying for healing, peace and comfort. Mr. Professor I pray for you heart. Please think about your comments and how they may add more pain.

Much Love,

Special K

XXXXXXX “hugs”

20130114-213439.jpg

Leave a Reply

