Too many gods ….

Bloglets, howdy do? If you’re not directly in the path of Sandy please don’t find one reason to complain. Ok enough of that! It has been a few days, had to do a lot of thinking.

Today we will talk about the difficulty of serving too many gods. There was a time I had the god of perfume, designer clothes, shoes and bags just to name a few. Oh yeah and the god of sex I mentioned in other post. They all had their fair share of destruction in my life.

When serving those gods I would NOT put any money in for tithe only give a small offering. Not proud just being honest about where I WAS. Those gods also made me a slave to debt.

Debt is the god that gets a lot of our money. We get deep in debt to live nice, ride nice, eat nice, dress nice. This god bring on stress, depression, anger and anxiety. All out of the will of God for your life. The god of debt still hovers over me.

I’ve grown to a place where I can look nice on a BUDGET still working on that in the grocery department. However last year my friends introduced me to the THRIFT STORE. Takes a lot of time and work BUT you don’t feel stressed when you hand over your debt card. This was an easy god for me to get rid of.

The most difficult for me was the sexual god. I felt like I had to have sex, I felt it was the way you show love. Thought it was the way you keep a man. I was wrong so wrong. That god just made the emotional attachment awful. Sex often clouds your head and you will often make irrational choices.

Let me explain how often have you stayed with someone who treated you like crap? Even if he does NOT beat you, cheating is often over looked when sex is involved. I’ve had my fair share of those relationships. The only time we had any form of happiness was while having sex. I made myself feel I needed it. Sexual healing with NO vows leads to destruction.

Sex was an addiction for me. Like the alcoholic needs a drink,  I needed to feel the warmth of a man. I didn’t complete a 12 step program, I gave my addiction to GOD and not my flesh. This also took years of being hurt and left for destruction.

Why SEX??? It’s cold outside and Fall /Winter people fall in love, then Spring comes and someone needs distance. Following trends leads to disappointment at times. Just because everyone else is falling prey to “cuffing season” you don’t have too. If he is really into you, he would be glad you want to keep the cookies in the jar.

Tonight think about everything you love more than God. Might not be sex, might be a social network, video game, food or yourself. Either way God calls us to serve Him. Pleasing God should be your focus. God is calling us to listen and obey His voice! No matter who/what your god is you still have time.

Honestly God already knows who/what you love more than Him, he is too gentle to force himself in. He will wait just don’t wait to late.

The scripture for the might is;

Jeremiah 35:15 NIV

Again and again I sent all my servants the prophets to you. They said, “Each of you must turn from your wicked ways and reform your actions; do not follow other gods to serve them. Then you will live in the land I have given to you and your ancestors.” But you have not paid attention or listened to me.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

